top of page
  • Writer's pictureShe is Ke

Fowl Play Review

I did it!! I finally tried Fowl Play Hot Chicken. Nashville is definitely known for hot chicken, so I was so glad when Gallatin finally got a hot chicken restaurant. I kept seeing mixed reviews on Facebook, so I had to try it for myself. The parking lot stays full, so it has to be pretty good, right?


I ordered via Uber eats, but ended up going to pick it up instead of having it delivered. I honestly wanted to try one of everything. I ended up ordering the triple play smash burger and fries, as well as the grand slam which comes with a leg quarter, a breast quarter, a spicy fish sandwich, 3 chicken tenders and 4 small sides. My sides of choice were macaroni and cheese, turnip greens, sweet potatoes and fried okra. I like spicy, but not where it’s too spicy to enjoy, so I went with first base for the heat level. I ended up spending about $70 on everything we got.


Uber eats said my food would be ready in 15-20 minutes. The restaurant is still pretty new, so I wasn’t sure if it would be ready that quickly with tyem being so busy all the time. I took my time getting there, and when I got there my food still was not ready. Apparently they had just received my order, which was fine. The girls and I sat inside and waited until it was ready.

The dining area was small, but clean. I love how they had local jerseys decorating the walls and TVs mounted with games playing. Customer service was top notch and I really appreciate that nowadays. It probably took my food about 15 more minutes to be ready. They even offered to carry it to my car for me.


It smelled so good and I could not wait to dig in. I got home, opened my bags and realized I was missing my fries, but I did not want to go back. We had plenty of other food anyway. I will have to try them next time. I was impressed with how everything looked except for the sides. I know it said small, but they were tiny. With it being a family meal I assumed the sides were shareable, but these were definitely personal, possibly even kids size.

The burger was huge. I cut it in 4ths and we all still got a decent size piece. The only thing I’d change is the sauce. They had a special sauce on it, but I needed ketchup or mustard in addition.


The fish sandwich was just okay. I prefer everything on the side so I can build my own sandwich, but it came already put together. I’d also like a little more seasoning, and for it to be fried a tad bit harder.


The chicken (I ate the leg quarter) was definitely my favorite part. It was fried to perfection. First base was too spicy for the kids, but the perfect amount of spice for me. I’m not the biggest chicken tender fan, but they were pretty good as well.


The sides were just mediocre, nothing to brag about. You can definitely taste the diabetes in the sweet potatoes, but I like them like that. I was impressed that the turnip greens are real greens and not the canned or chopped kind. They were also very meaty and that’s not my thing. Macaroni and okra were like any other, nothing special. Next time I’d just double up on the sides because the four of us were only able to get a bite or two of each.


I will definitely be going back to Fowl Play Hot Chicken. I still need to try the wings, fries, baked beans, spaghetti, chicken and waffles, and the fruit tea. They even have chess squares for dessert, and a spicy cinnamon honey chicken sandwich, but I’m nervous to try those.


I will rate Fowl Play an 8 out of 10. If the sides were bigger I’d probably bump them up to a 9. Have you and your family tried this black owned hot chicken restaurant yet? If so, how did you like it and what was your favorite part? I might have to go back for dinner tonight, typing tgis is making me hungry for hot chicken.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Oracle and Tarot Reading

I’ve always been intrigued by tarot, oracle, and other metaphysical things, but I never thought I’d be reading the cards myself. For one,...

Mothers Day

If you read last weeks blog then you know I’ve been working on my self care regimen. It only made sense that for Mother’s Day I go all...

Single Moms Self Care

Time management is something as moms we strive to excel in. From making sure the kids get to school and extra curricular activities on...

Comentários

Avaliado com 0 de 5 estrelas.
Ainda sem avaliações

Adicione uma avaliação
bottom of page