top of page
  • Writer's pictureShe is Ke

I Met His Mom….

Why do we always get nervous when meeting someone’s parents, and particularly the mother? I feel like dads always like Mr and tend to be pretty easy going. It’s those mothers that are on a whole nother level.

Backstory: I’ve only been in a few serious relationships in my lifetime, so I haven’t had many encounters with the parents. Ones mom hated me, ones mom loved me, and ones mom I could not stand (you guess which is which lol). As you can see, the good mother in law odds are not in my favor, so naturally when it came time to meet this mom I procrastinated because I was a nervous wreck.


What will she be like? Bougie? Country? Ghetto? Nice? Mean? Funny? Me being me- I thought of every possible terrible scenario there could be. She would probably hate me. We’d probably butt heads. Maybe we’d argue. The meeting would just be all around awkward.


Fast forward to meeting day- she gets here and I’m breathing hard, my palms are sweaty, but there’s a forced smile on my face because I don’t know what else to do. He introduces us and she’s very polite. As the day goes on the vibes are great, we’re conversing, and things are actually pretty cool. So now I’m mad at myself because I’ve been freaking out all week for absolutely nothing. I think this is the start to something great. I actually wish I would’ve met his mom sooner.

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Oracle and Tarot Reading

I’ve always been intrigued by tarot, oracle, and other metaphysical things, but I never thought I’d be reading the cards myself. For one,...

Mothers Day

If you read last weeks blog then you know I’ve been working on my self care regimen. It only made sense that for Mother’s Day I go all...

Single Moms Self Care

Time management is something as moms we strive to excel in. From making sure the kids get to school and extra curricular activities on...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page