top of page
  • Writer's pictureShe is Ke

Karen Touched My Hair

When I found out I was pregnant with a daughter back in 2017, I knew I was either going to cut my hair off or start locs. I wanted something that was going to be low maintenance so I could focus on being a mother. I knew hair would be the last thing on my mind. After going back and forth for a few months I decided to get some two strand twists and just leave them in. If I didn’t like them after a few months I’d just cut them off. As you can see, I decided to leave them in and let them loc.


This journey has had its ups and downs, but I am happy I chose to loc my hair. I have set a goal to reach waist length by year 5, and then maybe I’ll cut them off (I’m in year 4 now). I am so proud of the health and the growth of my hair (BIG shout out to my loctician!!). This is actually the longest my hair has ever been because I usually do not like having long hair. It gets annoying, hot, and is just a lot to deal with. Hence why 9 times out of 10 I have my locs in an up-do style or in a ponytail.


I told myself I would start wearing them down more often to prevent breakage and thinning from too much tension. I took my Bantu knots down and rocked my locs curly. As soon as I got to work my coworkers were in awe. “OMG you’re hair is down!” “Your hair is so pretty!” “I didn’t realize your hair was that long!” Of course once the topic of length came up, one of my coworkers inserted herself: “but that’s not yours, those are extensions right?!” I replied, “nope, it’s all mine.” She was in disbelief. She looked at my other coworker and says, “she’s pulling my leg isn’t she?” The other lady looked so uncomfortable and didn’t know what to say. I didn’t know if I should be offended, or take it as a compliment. I’m like: “no, it’s all my real hair. It grows out of my scalp, see?!” I still don’t think she believed me.


Later on in the day that same lady walks up to me and touches my hair saying “look guys, isn’t her hair so pretty and long?” I quickly turned around, moved my head,  and inserted yea and she doesn’t think it’s really my hair. Everyone turned around stunned. She was immediately embarrassed. Her face was red and she said “well I didn’t know. I know a lot of people wear weaves and things, so it wouldn’t hurt my feelings if yours was extensions.” A male coworker sarcastically responds, “yea because she wouldn’t want to hurt your feelings with HER hair now would she?” Everyone laughed and Karen quickly went back to her desk and didn’t speak for the rest of the day. I can’t help it that my hair is longer than yours Karen. Sorry not sorry!



17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Oracle and Tarot Reading

I’ve always been intrigued by tarot, oracle, and other metaphysical things, but I never thought I’d be reading the cards myself. For one,...

Mothers Day

If you read last weeks blog then you know I’ve been working on my self care regimen. It only made sense that for Mother’s Day I go all...

Single Moms Self Care

Time management is something as moms we strive to excel in. From making sure the kids get to school and extra curricular activities on...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page